Z-LOGS

THERE IS NO LIMIT FOR Z-LOGS

5-Minutes Calls

In the summer of 2003 when I applied for working in Schlumberger (SLB), I could not imagine (no one could imagine) how far my life will change due to this new job. In that time I was working for an IT firm as a software analyst and designer. Spending more than 10 hours everyday in my cool and pleasant office in front of computer did not mean that I would not start my PC when I reached home! Principally I was always online, Internet was part of my daily routine, just like my cell phone. Then I joined SLB and in my first assignment in Ahwaz I suddenly found myself in a remote location in the middle of nowhere (Maroon oilfield) with minimum connectivity with the real world. Soon Internet connectivity became like a dream and I started to think about more basic luxuries such as telephone.

It did not took me very long to realize that being able to have a “5-Minute Call” to home was a gift one could only be awarded if was lucky enough to get network coverage after several hours trying to dial successfully with a useless cell phone!

September 16, 2006 - Posted by | Life, Oilfield, Personal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

