Z-LOGS

THERE IS NO LIMIT FOR Z-LOGS

Assaluyeh, Dayyer, Siraf and … – Part I

I am posting this entry with some delay. The date is back to the first half of February 2007. Originally the journey to south of Iran was a flickery event. Hamed (I guess) initiated the debate and after lots of fluctuations the final consensus was on Kish. The plan was to travel to Assaluyeh, visit Assaluyeh and the neighbor cities and then go to Kish island by boat. I decided to join the event but only in the Assaluyeh part and avoid going to Kish again, the place which I go other frequently for my job and is not interesting anymore for me to visit.

I departed from the flicky gang at Assaluyeh airport. They had a connecting flight from Assaluyeh to Kish and by the time they left it was already 5 pm.

Mr. Zarreh Assaluyeh Airport Security Officer
I was the guest of Mr. Zarreh (Assaluyeh airport security officer)

Next morning at 4 a.m. I started my first day tour. I rented a car with driver and we spent the whole day in Dayyer and Siraf, two historical ports on the west of Assaluyeh (east of Bushehr).

Dayyer Port - Bushehr Province
Fishing Lenj – Dayyer Port, Bushehr Province, Iran

Dayyer Port - Bushehr Province
Fisherman – Dayyer port,
Bushehr Province, Iran

Ruins of a castle - Dayyer port, Bushehr, Iran
Ruins of castle – Dayyer port, Bushehr Province, Iran

Fishing Boat - Dayyer port, Iran
Fishing Boat – Dayyer port, Bushehr Province, Iran

The second day I did the same. This time I departed toward the east of Assaluyeh. Soon we exited Bushehr province and entered the green and culturally different province of Hormozgan.

Ab-Anbar - Hormozgan province, Iran
Ab-Anbar – Hormozgan province, Iran

Bandari Lady sewing Burqa (Batooleh) - Hormozgan province, Iran
Bandari Lady sewing Burqa (Batooleh) – Hormozgan province, Iran

The second day was fun too. The bandari people in a village around Gavbandi invited us for lunch and served us warmly. To my surprise they even let me take some photographs from the ladies. The day before in Bushehr province where mostly Arab fishermen were living, I never found a chance to shoot women or girls.

Bandari Lady cooking bread - Hormozgan province, Iran
Bandari Lady cooking bread – Hormozgan province, Iran

Let me share with you my recent finding. If you want to take photos seriously go alone to the journey. When you are alone you can decide about the very detail of the schedule. You may skip/add/modify the plan anytime as you wish. You may stop somewhere haphazardly and spend 5 hours without hearing any complains or seeing unhappy faces 😉  The only drawback is when you are alone, you are facing higher risk. In my case I had the rented car driver with me, so I was not alone and because he was not part of the plan, he would never complain.

March 6, 2007 - Posted by | IRAN, Life, Personal, Travel

8 Comments »

  1. going alone on a trip is really enjoyable,but sometimes it is really worth to go with some others & even bear their terrible complaints.Isn’t it?!

    Comment by ameneh | March 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Nice pictures you got there! Actually i too am going on a trip.

    Comment by tharun270 | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hallo Mr.Vista,
    My name is Beatrice and i like your pictures a lot
    I’m writing a book on the femminist movement in Iran from the XIX th century to the XXI st and I was wondering weather i cold add your two pictures of the bandari ladys in my publication if you don’t mind.
    I will cite the source, the one you allow.
    Please let me know if you agree with this and thank you very much in advance,
    Beatrice

    Comment by Beatrice Balestrazzi | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. Dear Vista,

    I am interested to know what kind of vessel can go into Dayyer port. Do you know anybody I could talk to?

    Your help would be very much appreciated.

    Christian
    ck@sunseekerresources.com

    Comment by Christian Kunze | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. May I use your picture on the ab-anbar. I am writing articel on rainwater harvesting and ab-anbars are rainwater collection systems from the old Persian civilization.
    Thank you.

    Comment by Mohammad Sairamsal | September 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes Mohammad,
      You can use the photo provided that you mention the author.

      Good luck

      Comment by بامدادی | October 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. learning english is quite easy, there arem any tutorials on the internet and some audiobooks too .;:

    Comment by Mirrored Furniture | November 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. You post very interesting content here. Your page deserves much bigger audience.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful tool that can help you, just type
    in google: svetsern traffic tips

    Comment by Janice | January 2, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

